Canadian Human Rights Tribunal
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Canadian Human Rights Tribunal



About The CHRT

The purpose of the Canadian Human Rights Act is to protect individuals from discrimination. It states that all Canadians have the right to equality, equal opportunity, fair treatment, and an environment free of discrimination. The Canadian Human Rights Tribunal (CHRT) applies these principles to cases that are referred to it by the Canadian Human Rights Commission (CHRC). The Tribunal is similar to a court of law, but is less formal and only hears cases relating to discrimination. For further information about the different roles of the Tribunal and the Commission, please see About the CHRT and Jurisdiction.

Coming Soon!
New Website for the CHRT

Soon you will see a new CHRT website at this very same address: www.chrt-tcdp.gc.ca. CHRT is working to transform the look and feel of its website to better serve Canadians and to take advantage of new technology. The new site will make it easier for you to search and find information online using any device. We hope that you will find it useful for your needs.

Through the coming into force of the Administrative Tribunals Support Service of Canada Act, on November 1, 2014, the Government of Canada is consolidating the provision of support services to eleven administrative tribunals including the Canadian Human Rights Tribunal (CHRT) into a single organization, the Administrative Tribunals Support Service of Canada (ATSSC). This administrative change does not affect the mandate of the CHRT. Case matters will continue to be filed, managed and safeguarded in accordance with existing CHRT procedures.


Information regarding the Digital Voice Recording system at Tribunal proceedings

Tribunal canadien des droits de la personne
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Tribunal Canadien des droits de la personne


Le TCDP en bref

La Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne a pour objet de protéger les personnes contre la discrimination. Elle énonce que tous les Canadiens ont droit à l'égalité des chances, au traitement équitable et à un environnement exempt de discrimination. Le Tribunal canadien des droits de la personne (TCDP) applique ses principes aux causes que lui soumet la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne (CCDP). Il s'apparente à une cour de justice, mais il a un caractère moins officiel et il n'instruit que les causes portant sur la discrimination. Consultez Le TCDP en bref et Compétence pour obtenir plus de renseignements au sujet des différents rôles du Tribunal et de la Commission.

venir !
un nouveau site Web pour le TCDP

Vous allez bientt voir un nouveau site Web la mme adresse : www.tcdp-chrt.gc.ca. Nous travaillons prsentement pour amliorer le site Web du TCDP, pour mieux servir les Canadiens et Canadiennes, en profitant des nouvelles technologies. Nous nous attendons que le nouveau site facilite la recherche dinformation en ligne, peu importe lappareil utilis pour y accder. Nous esprons que vous allez le trouver utile vos besoins.

Avec l’entrée en vigueur de la Loi sur le Service canadien d’appui aux tribunaux administratifs, le1ernovembre2014, le gouvernement du Canada regroupe la prestation des services d’appui à onze tribunaux administratifs – y compris le Tribunal canadien des droits de la personne (TCDP) – au sein d’une seule organisation, le Service canadien d’appui aux tribunaux administratifs (SCDATA). Ce changement administratif n’a aucune incidence sur le mandat du TCDP. Les dossiers continueront d’être déposés, gérés et protégés conformément aux procédures existantes du TCDP.


L'information concernant le système audionumérique d’enregistrement de la voix pendant les démarches du Tribunal